Skip to main content

1972 - Davidson Women's Committee (DWC). Records, 2002-

Identifier: RG12-107

Scope and Contents

The first folder contains the constitution and 2005-2006 budget proposal to the Activities Tax Council. The second folder mostly contains correspondence and e-mail announcements, but also had two newspaper articles concerning the Women's Film Festival. The second Correspondence folder contains email correspondence about meeting and events, along with minutes. There are minutes from the 2006-2007 academic year. The Printed Materials folders contain flyers. The Sam Spencer dinner file contains a copy of the invitation, schedule of events, and copies of remarks given at the dinner from Anna Van Erven, Carrie Boyle, Gardner Roller Ligo, Meg Boykin Kimmel, and Tom Ross. The Skipping Stones exhibit contains mounted photographs and accompanying labels for a joint 1999 Women's Committee and Photography Club on women at Davidson. Women featured in the exhibit include Elizabeth Mills, Mary Shell Brosche, Catherine Turner, Marie Sharp, Anne Shields, Pat Gardner, Ruth Pittard, Lisa Moose, Brenda Tapia, Emily Setina, Kristen Taylor, Britta Toleman, Magdalena Maiz- Pena, Georgia Ringle, Jehan Shamsid-Deen, Elisabeth Malphurs, Meredith Beattie, Thirza Sayers, Megan O'Brien, Erin Smith, Melissa Otis, Amber Worrell and Cintra Pollack.


  • Creation: 2002


Biographical / Historical

The purpose and aim of the Davidson Women's Committee is to raise awareness about the needs and concerns of women on campus, as well as to educate the general Davidson College community about women's issues locally and globally. In the fall of 2009, the group renamed themselves 1972 to commemorate the year Davidson College went coeducational.


8.00 folders_oversize (8 folders + oversize)



Physical Location



Mapstand D-3

Immediate Source of Acquisition

2014-095 (exhibit)

Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the College Archives Repository